Root Depth defined in multiple parts of Hydrus

A discussion forum for Hydrus-1D users.
Post Reply
madegeogr
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2019 8:17 pm
Location: Cyprus

Root Depth defined in multiple parts of Hydrus

Post by madegeogr » Thu Aug 01, 2019 7:53 am

Hi,
My problem is related to the Root Depth, which is not known. As a result, I defined it in the "Root Growth Parameters". However, the Root Depth is already required to be filled in the "Meteorological Parameters" using "Tables/Growth Data". The reason why I have chosen this option, is because I already have info regarding Leaf Area Index and crop height. So, my question is this:
What data will Hydrus use to define Root Depth? The data provided in "Root Growth Parameters" (which is what I want) or the data (which I do not have) in the "Meteorological Parameters"?

Jirka
Posts: 4726
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2002 3:47 pm
Location: USA
Location: Riverside, CA

Re: Root Depth defined in multiple parts of Hydrus

Post by Jirka » Thu Aug 01, 2019 7:15 pm

This seems to be something that should be quite clear from the simulated results, right?

If you select the option "Root Growth" in "Main Processes", then values calculated from "Root Growth Parameters" are used for rooting depth and values from the Meteo section are ignored.

J.

Post Reply