HP1 with more than 20 solutes

The HP1 code incorporates modules simulating
(1) transient water flow in variably-saturated media,
(2) transport of multiple components, and
(3) mixed equilibrium/kinetic geochemical reactions.
Post Reply
Dani
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2020 12:43 pm
Location: Germany

HP1 with more than 20 solutes

Post by Dani » Mon Jan 13, 2020 1:20 pm

Dear Hydrus (and HP1) users,

I have not found any post where somebody has work with more than 20 components in HP1 (using the grapical interface it seems to be the maximum).

Using the graphical interface of Hydrus-1D. I have been able to run HP1 with 19 components (no interaction with any surface, only homogeneous reactions).
Then I have proceed to modify the number of components from 19 to 27.
First, I have modified 3 things in the Selector.in file a) the "No.Solutes" from 19 to 27. b) I have added for each new species the 16 paramenters such as DifW, DifG, Beta, Henry, etc (being the diffusion equal to the bulk diffusion), c) In the section of KTopSolute and KBotSolute I have added the corresponding 0 for each new species.
After, in the Species.in I have added the new components that I are being transported.
Finally, in the user interface, in HP1 Definitions --> Definitions of Solution Compositions. I have added also the new species in the initial Phreeqc solution and in the boundary solutions.
I have run the problem from the user interface without problems but I have notice that files such as OBS_NODE are empty (also NOD_INF), and there are some files that did not even appear such as obs_nod_chemX, or soluteX. Is there a reason for that? How can I solve it?
I have closed Hydrus-1D GUI and I have opened it again. This time, I have not been able to run the file. What is that due?



I have also noticed another problem when trying to add Mn as component. I am using the ThermoChimie_PHREEQC_Davies_v9b0 database. I get a message saying that such component is not define in the database, but I have check and it is defined. What could be the reason for such problem, and how can I solved?

Thanks

diederik
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 7:57 am
Location: Belgium

Re: HP1 with more than 20 solutes

Post by diederik » Mon Jan 13, 2020 1:32 pm

Hello,

you cannot run more than 20 species with the default HPx program (as embedded in the HYDRUS GUI). We have a dummy version that I distributed on request (if you send me your email address).

The issue of Mn I cannot solve now - do you have it also with less than 20 components? I tried Mn in the Thermochemie database and it was running. Can you confirm that you have that issue only with less than 20 components?

Diederik

Dani
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2020 12:43 pm
Location: Germany

Re: HP1 with more than 20 solutes

Post by Dani » Mon Jan 13, 2020 3:18 pm

Yes, my bad about Mn. Now, it is working with less than 20 solutes.

diederik
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 7:57 am
Location: Belgium

Re: HP1 with more than 20 solutes

Post by diederik » Mon Jan 13, 2020 3:29 pm

Can you just send your email address to djacques@sckcen.be for the version with more than 20 components

Post Reply