How to calculate the root water uptake of a certain soil depth range

A discussion forum for Hydrus-1D users.
liumg

How to calculate the root water uptake of a certain soil depth range

Post by liumg » Tue Feb 09, 2021 12:55 pm

Dear sir,
I'm studying the water uptake amount of a deep root crop at different depths.I want to know how to determine the actual amount of water uptake by roots within a certain depth range with hydrus-1d. I tried to sum and integrate sink terms of different depths, and I found that their results were the same. All of them (12.9cm) were significantly lower than the total root water absorption (56cm).I used the trapz() function in the caTools package of R software for integration (Trapezoid Rule Numerical Integration).
I need your help.
I look forward to your reply.
Thank your!

Minguo Liu

Jirka

Re: How to calculate the root water uptake of a certain soil depth range

Post by Jirka » Tue Feb 09, 2021 6:25 pm

The root water uptake from different depths, Sink [1/T] (e.g., 1/day), is reported in the Nod_inf.out file. If you integrate this value over a root zone (multiply by lengths associated with each node of the root zone), you will get the actual transpiration rate [L/T] (e.g., cm/d; T_a=integral(Sink*dx)). This value should be equal to the value vRoot [L/T] reported in T_Level.out. If it is not, you do it wrong. If you integrate this only over a certain soil layer, you get root water uptake from this layer.

If you integrate T_a over time, you get cumulative actual transpiration rate [L] (e.g., cm). J.

liumg

Post by liumg » Wed Feb 10, 2021 2:08 am

Dear Jirka,

Thank you for your reply!