Execution not appearing to take place

A discussion forum for Hydrus-1D users.
Post Reply
theoden
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 8:00 am
Location: Sweden

Execution not appearing to take place

Post by theoden » Mon Apr 08, 2019 11:14 am

I am trying to learn Hydrus 1-D with help of the tutorial provided on this website. At the moment I have worked my way through the first example ("Infiltration of water into a soil profile") up until the point where I should execute it. According to the tutorial I should get a DOS window with runtime information and then the option to push "enter" after it has finished. Then it is supposed to display the post-processing info.

My problem is that I don't get any of this. The DOS window appear for a short short time and then closes automatically, and then only the pre-processing window is filled, the post-processing window is empty.

What am I doing wrong? It was a pretty simple tutorial, with most steps just including accepting the default values, so I cannot really see where I might have messed up. Is there an easy fix to this?

Edit:
Now I'm even more confused. When I look in the inventories where the file should exist I cannot find it. When I browse my inventories in Hydrus it appears as if the file "Example 1.h1d" should be located in Windows (C:)/Program (x86)/PC-Progress/Hydrus-1D 4.xx but when I browse that inventory outside Hydrus I cannot find the file there.

Could this be the issue?

I have tried both restarting and reinstalling the program.

Edit 2:
SOLVED! Apparently I had to run the whole program as admin, otherwise none of the files/folders I created were created...

Jirka
Posts: 5216
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2002 3:47 pm
Location: USA
Location: Riverside, CA

Re: Execution not appearing to take place

Post by Jirka » Mon Apr 08, 2019 2:49 pm

Note that if you keep the default settings, HYDRUS will be creating new projects in the "Documents" part of the memory on the hard drive, which is accessible to all users. However, if you ask HYDRUS to create new projects in the area restricted only to administrators (e.g., Windows (C:)/Program (x86)/), then you will need to have administrative rights. J.

theoden
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 8:00 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Execution not appearing to take place

Post by theoden » Mon Apr 08, 2019 11:59 pm

That sounds reasonable. I will bring this knowledge with me! :)

JuliaLuhpia
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2020 9:30 am
Location: Germany

Re: Execution not appearing to take place

Post by JuliaLuhpia » Mon Nov 23, 2020 5:22 pm

Hello everyone,
I am new to HYDRUS-1D and have the exact same problem as theoden. Although there seems to be a response/ solution to it already, I didn't quite understand what exactly needs to be changed to display the post-processing. Do you have a beginner-friendly tip for me?
Thanks a lot!

Jirka
Posts: 5216
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2002 3:47 pm
Location: USA
Location: Riverside, CA

Re: Execution not appearing to take place

Post by Jirka » Mon Nov 23, 2020 5:44 pm

It is not clear what your question is. Can you open and see (inputs and outputs of) existing projects (installed with the software)? J.

Details guidelines how to use HYDRUS can be found in:

Radcliffe, D., and J. Šimůnek, Soil Physics with HYDRUS: Modeling and Applications, CRC Press, Taylor & Francis Group, Boca Raton, FL, ISBN: 978-1-4200-7380-5, pp. 373, 2010.

Rassam, D., J. Šimůnek, D. Mallants, and M. Th. van Genuchten, The HYDRUS-1D Software Package for Simulating the Movement of Water, Heat, and Multiple Solutes in Variably Saturated Media: Tutorial, Version 1.00, CSIRO Land and Water, Adelaide, Australia, 183 pp., ISBN 978-1-4863-1001-2, 2018. (https://www.pc-progress.com/Downloads/P ... 0_2018.pdf)

JuliaLuhpia
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2020 9:30 am
Location: Germany

Re: Execution not appearing to take place

Post by JuliaLuhpia » Thu Feb 25, 2021 3:05 pm

Thank you for your reply!

I found a solution to the issue: apparently Hydrus-1D needs to be started as administrator in order to have the right to store results. Otherwise the MS-DOS window just appears for a very short moment, but does not actually produce any outputs.

Jirka
Posts: 5216
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2002 3:47 pm
Location: USA
Location: Riverside, CA

Re: Execution not appearing to take place

Post by Jirka » Thu Feb 25, 2021 7:24 pm

I do not think that this would be the case unless you try to store HYDRUS projects in some area, in which you are not authorized/allowed to write unless you are an administrator. J.

Post Reply