1D with N solutes does not add cTop(i) to ATHMOSPH.IN

A discussion forum for Hydrus-1D users.
Post Reply
theodorb
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2018 3:54 pm
Location: Israel

1D with N solutes does not add cTop(i) to ATHMOSPH.IN

Post by theodorb » Mon Nov 26, 2018 12:17 am

Hi,
I'm running HYDRUS 1D with root water uptake and 2 solutes. the data of the two solutes conc. is seen in ATHMOSPH.IN but without column names for the second solute:

Pcp_File_Version=4
*** BLOCK I: ATMOSPHERIC INFORMATION **********************************
MaxAL (MaxAL = number of atmospheric data-records)
2424
DailyVar SinusVar lLay lBCCycles lInterc lDummy lDummy lDummy lDummy lDummy
f f f f f f f f f f
hCritS (max. allowed pressure head at the soil surface)
0
tAtm Prec rSoil rRoot hCritA rB hB ht tTop tBot Ampl cTop cBot RootDepth
1 -0.149791 0 0 10000 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0.64 0 4.99994
2 0 0 0 10000 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0.64 0 4.99997
3 0 0 0 10000 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0.64 0 5.00005
4 0 0 0 10000 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0.64 0 5.00017


results seem OK but it does pose a problem when I want to read and write data directly from ATHMOSPH.IN

Is this behaviour known?

Thanks,

​Theodor Bughici,

PhD candidate, Prof. Naftali Lazarovitch's lab
Ben-Gurion University

Jirka
Posts: 4983
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2002 3:47 pm
Location: USA
Location: Riverside, CA

Re: 1D with N solutes does not add cTop(i) to ATHMOSPH.IN

Post by Jirka » Mon Nov 26, 2018 12:25 am

Why would you need column names in this files on these lines? These lines are only comment lines, which the code does not read. J.

theodorb
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2018 3:54 pm
Location: Israel

Re: 1D with N solutes does not add cTop(i) to ATHMOSPH.IN

Post by theodorb » Mon Nov 26, 2018 6:35 am

I'm reading, writing and executing HYDRUS externally (with Python) so when I want to change cTop (in the case on 1 solute) I can easily find the data column according to the place of the column title. The documentation also suggests the cTop(i) name given to the i'th solute.
If HYDRUS does not add these column titles I will add them myself. Just wanted to know if it's a normal behaviour.

Theodor

Jirka
Posts: 4983
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2002 3:47 pm
Location: USA
Location: Riverside, CA

Re: 1D with N solutes does not add cTop(i) to ATHMOSPH.IN

Post by Jirka » Mon Nov 26, 2018 2:31 pm

See the text on page 185 of the HYDRUS-1D manual: "All data are read in using list-directed formatting (free format). Comment lines are provided at the beginning of, and within, each input block to facilitate, among other things, proper identification of the function of the block and the input variables. The comment lines are ignored during program execution; hence, they may be left blank but should not be omitted."

J.

Post Reply