Exclusion effects in model

A discussion forum for Hydrus-1D users.
Jialan Zhu

Exclusion effects in model

Post by Jialan Zhu » Mon Apr 18, 2016 7:51 pm

Hi,
I have questions about Exclusion effects (size exclusion and ion exclusion) simulation with HYDRUS.
I’m currently studying bacteria transport in presence of surfactant in vadose zone. Surfactants enhance the effects of Exclusion.
I’m wondering if HYDRUS-1D can model this exclusion effect in unsaturated condition. And I’m considering using two-site model (attachment-detachment and straining).
According to C-Ride manual, the equation for water content accessible to colloids θc is water content θ minus the water content not accessible to colloids θim: θc=θ-θim . The θim is a constant input parameter in the model. So it is possible that θc is negative when θim is larger than θ under variably saturated conditions. How does HYDRUS deal with this problem?
Thanks
Jialan

Jirka

Re: Exclusion effects in model

Post by Jirka » Mon Apr 18, 2016 8:57 pm

θim has to be set to a value that is smaller than any θ value encountered during the simulation. To avoid crashes (divisions by zero), HYDRUS will set the mobile water as follows:
θm =amax1(θ - θim ,0.001)
J.

Jialan Zhu

Post by Jialan Zhu » Tue Apr 19, 2016 1:16 am

Dear Jirka,
Thank you so much for your early and clearly reply! :D
What I’m doing right now is fitting colloid transport parameters with bacteria breakthrough curves under different surfactant concentrations.
According what you said in another postings: there are two ways to model exclusion effects with HYDRUS, one is “mobile-immobile solute transport concept”, another is “the Kd adsorption coefficient”. I have two questions:
1. What is this Kd? The detachment coefficient for attachment-detachment site?
2. If it is, what parameters I need consider (θim, Kd, or both) in parameter fitting with inverse model?
Your suggestions will be highly appreciated.
Jialan

Jirka

Post by Jirka » Tue Apr 19, 2016 1:43 pm