Boundary conditions

A discussion forum for users of the new HYDRUS 2D/3D. HYDRUS is a software package for simulating water, heat and solute movement in two- and three-dimensional variably saturated media. Happy Posting!
ranlauf

Boundary conditions

Post by ranlauf » Fri Jun 08, 2018 6:57 am

Dear all,
I have a lot of experiences with HYDRUS-1D, but I am relatively new to HYDRUS-2D. Now I am struggling with the correct boundary conditions for an, I think at leat, relative simple problem:

I have a vertical west-east cross section through saturated/unsaturated zone, 650 m long, 3 m thick. There is a (nearly) constant water table of 1.2 m below surface on the western and 0.8 m below surface on the eastern side. The precipitation is about 600 mm/a. This should result in a downward vertical water flow in the unsaturated zone and a slow east-west flow in the saturated zone. Final aim of the simulation is to slightly rise the water table with the help of a impermeable subsurface wall somewhere close to the western boundary which reaches from the bottom of the system up to about 20 cm below the surface.

My problem is now to decide about the the correct boundary conditions:
One option could be: Atmospheric bc at the surface, constant head of 1.8 m with hydraulic equilibrium for all nodes at the eastern boundary, constant head of 2.2 m with hydraulic equilibrium for all nodes at the western boundary, no-flux boundary at the bottom.

Another option could be: Atmospheric bc at the surface, free drainage for all nodes at the eastern and western boundary (free drainage is usually used for lower bc, does it make sense for a vertical boundary?), constant head at the bottom with heads of 2.2 m at the western boundary gradually decreasing to 1.8 m at the eastern boundary. This option, however, seems to be mathematically unstable as the program crashes.

Any help/comment would be highly appreciated! Thank you!

Rudi

Jirka

Re: Boundary conditions