Fail on generating mesh

A discussion forum for users of the new HYDRUS 2D/3D. HYDRUS is a software package for simulating water, heat and solute movement in two- and three-dimensional variably saturated media. Happy Posting!
Post Reply
yjin
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 9:22 pm
Location: USA

Fail on generating mesh

Post by yjin » Wed Feb 21, 2018 5:31 pm

Hi,
I am trying to build a 3D model of a slope having a drainage tube in Hydrus 2.02 version, the problem happened while I am generating the FE mesh with Error No.41.
Even I built an intersection in a 3D slope. The problem is always there.
Could you help me solve this problem?

Attached project
https://drive.google.com/open?id=13e4ie ... CiTBZ3fBAG

Thank you
Attachments
error.PNG
error.PNG (5.53 KiB) Viewed 1270 times
logfile.PNG
logfile.PNG (9.06 KiB) Viewed 1270 times
slopewithtube.PNG
slopewithtube.PNG (66.34 KiB) Viewed 1270 times

Mirek
Posts: 408
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Fail on generating mesh

Post by Mirek » Wed Feb 21, 2018 7:28 pm

This is an old error, which was fixed several years ago. Download and install the latest version of HYDRUS (2.05).
M.

faith1796
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2019 9:03 am
Location: China

Re: Fail on generating mesh

Post by faith1796 » Sat Apr 27, 2019 9:23 am

Hello, friend. I got the same problem recently. My hydrus version is 2.05 which is new enough to avoid this bug, but it still happened. I wonder if you solved your problem or not. Hopefully could help me with that. I attached my model here
Attachments
02. hydrus_dianchi.zip
(41.31 KiB) Downloaded 22 times

JirkaP
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 1:22 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Fail on generating mesh

Post by JirkaP » Tue Apr 30, 2019 8:31 am

The whole Solid, defined as Cavity, has to be inside its main Solid. . E.g. solid No. 39 is not inside the solid No. 1. See error message form Genex: Subregion 39 is not inside region 1.

When I simplified your model (Solid 1 was truncated near solid 39) we can see following error message.
model.png
model.png (31.78 KiB) Viewed 658 times
Last edited by JirkaP on Tue Apr 30, 2019 8:44 am, edited 2 times in total.

JirkaP
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 1:22 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Fail on generating mesh

Post by JirkaP » Tue Apr 30, 2019 8:33 am

Error.png
Error.png (5.29 KiB) Viewed 658 times

faith1796
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2019 9:03 am
Location: China

Re: Fail on generating mesh

Post by faith1796 » Tue Apr 30, 2019 8:43 am

Thanks for your reply. Yes, the error message is what I got previously due to the intersection between one solid and its cavity. Do you know how to solve it? Is it possible to truncate the cavity solid through the outside solid in order to make sure the cavity solid is exactly inside the solid?

JirkaP
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 1:22 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Fail on generating mesh

Post by JirkaP » Tue Apr 30, 2019 9:04 am

There are two problems:
1. You should truncate the cavity => truncate its axis curve (The geometry is quite complex and you will probably have to redefined the cavity manually => pipe surface will be recomputed automatically, but the circle surface on truncated side must be recreated manually.)
2. The cavity touches the upper surface of Solid 1. Could you translate the cavity a little bit below in Z coordinate (or Solid 1 must be a little bit thicker).

The main problem will be that your domain is very large and the FE- Mesh will be very huge. Please see “rules about spatial and temporal discretization (FAQ 8): http://www.pc-progress.com/Documents/No ... zation.pdf
Last edited by JirkaP on Fri May 03, 2019 7:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

faith1796
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2019 9:03 am
Location: China

Re: Fail on generating mesh

Post by faith1796 » Tue Apr 30, 2019 9:07 am

Thanks much for your suggestion. I will try on that and see what happens.

JirkaP
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 1:22 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Fail on generating mesh

Post by JirkaP » Tue Apr 30, 2019 12:15 pm

To be sure that you do not want to do "a tunnel" I will add the picture with cavity (using truncated axis curve)
Attachments
model_trunc.png
model_trunc.png (30.86 KiB) Viewed 653 times
Last edited by JirkaP on Fri May 03, 2019 7:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

faith1796
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2019 9:03 am
Location: China

Re: Fail on generating mesh

Post by faith1796 » Wed May 01, 2019 2:25 am

Yes, I am not doing the tunnel. Just want to have the cavity and generate the mesh correctly.

Post Reply