HYDRUS 2D PFAS MODULE: AWI area output is uniformally 0

A discussion forum for users of the new HYDRUS 2D/3D. HYDRUS is a software package for simulating water, heat and solute movement in two- and three-dimensional variably saturated media. Happy Posting!
Post Reply
OHBratton
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2022 8:15 pm
Location: USA

HYDRUS 2D PFAS MODULE: AWI area output is uniformally 0

Post by OHBratton » Wed Jan 11, 2023 5:44 am

Hello,

I have been working with the PFAS Module in HYDRUS 2D, and I have encountered an issue with the AWI values. It appears that the AWI is being output as 0 for the entire simulation even though the soil is not fully saturated. I have checked my PFAS module input parameters and the water content values and I can not see why this is occurring. Is this a known issue and/or does anyone have any ideas as to what might be causing this? I have attached two images below for reference, one with the water content and the other with the AWI, both at the same time step.
Water Content Output.PNG
Water Content Output.PNG (99.01 KiB) Viewed 188 times
AWI Output.PNG
AWI Output.PNG (100.42 KiB) Viewed 188 times
Thanks,
OHBratton

Jirka
Posts: 5648
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2002 3:47 pm
Location: USA
Location: Riverside, CA

Re: HYDRUS 2D PFAS MODULE: AWI area output is uniformally 0

Post by Jirka » Wed Jan 11, 2023 6:38 pm

Currently, I’m not aware of any problem with calculating air-water interfacial area. I have switched PFAS on in the Furrow example (in 2D-Test) and the results are reasonable. J.
F1.png
F1.png (121.71 KiB) Viewed 180 times
F2.png
F2.png (152.39 KiB) Viewed 180 times

OHBratton
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2022 8:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: HYDRUS 2D PFAS MODULE: AWI area output is uniformally 0

Post by OHBratton » Fri Jan 13, 2023 1:55 am

Thank you, Jirka, for the reply! Since the PFAS module and AWI Area are working in the Furrow example, it is almost certain the issue I am experiencing comes from some error in the way in which I set up my simulation. I will continue working with problem on my end and will post a follow up reply when I have a resolution so that others can avoid the same pitfall.

Jirka
Posts: 5648
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2002 3:47 pm
Location: USA
Location: Riverside, CA

Re: HYDRUS 2D PFAS MODULE: AWI area output is uniformally 0

Post by Jirka » Fri Jan 13, 2023 2:40 am

Or post (or send me) your project so that i can have a look at it. From the figures, i can not conclude anything. J.

OHBratton
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2022 8:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: HYDRUS 2D PFAS MODULE: AWI area output is uniformally 0

Post by OHBratton » Fri Jan 20, 2023 6:15 am

Apologies for the late follow up on my end, and thank you for offering to take a look at it! Unfortunately, the file is too large to upload to the pc-progress forum. Instead, I have emailed the file to your UCR email address.

Best,
OHBratton

Jirka
Posts: 5648
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2002 3:47 pm
Location: USA
Location: Riverside, CA

Re: HYDRUS 2D PFAS MODULE: AWI area output is uniformally 0

Post by Jirka » Fri Jan 20, 2023 7:53 pm

Owen,

You have specified the value of Scal_AWI, i.e., “a scaling constant k_m, to linearly scale the interfacial area A_aw” (text from help), equal to zero. The same Scal_AWI values must be used for all solutes (since the interfacial area, similarly as water content, is the same for all solutes). Actually, the Scal_AWI values given for the first solutes are used for all solutes. If you want to use different interfacial areas for different solutes, you need to run multiple simulations. You can not do that in one run.

J.

OHBratton
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2022 8:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: HYDRUS 2D PFAS MODULE: AWI area output is uniformally 0

Post by OHBratton » Sat Jan 21, 2023 12:33 am

Thank you Jirka! I have changed Scal_AWI to 1 for solute 1 and the program is now working as desired!

-OHBratton

Post Reply